Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hi folks and welcome to Monday’s Movie Meme. With the start of my Oscars 2012 blogs, I thought it would be a good idea to get more people involved in this and throw the floor open to all film lovers. This week’s topic is pretty simple and its to do with The Oscars. Which are your favourite winners of the Best Picture category at the Academy Awards?

With over 70 year’s of winners, there must be some great movies that you have seen that deserved the award for Best Picture. So list them here and comment on others’ blogs aswell please. Have some fun with this one.

For me, I have seen some great films over the years, but there are 3 that stand out for me even over such titles as Kramer vs Kramer, The Godfather and Forest Gump.

Firstly I have to choose Platoon. Its a great story and loosely based on the events of director Oliver Stone’s own experiences during the Vietnam War. The cast is tremendous with Willem Dafoe and Tom Berenger sparring off each other in two brilliant roles, and stuck in the middle was a fantastic Charlie Sheen. It truly deserved its Best Picture award in 1987 and also took home the Best Director, Best Sound and Best Editing gongs aswell. In all it had 8 nominations and I have to include in my list of three.

Secondly, Rain Man was a welcome return to the serious role for Tom Cruise. I had seen him play the straight man in Taps, rather than all American action here we saw in Top Gun and when he takes on serious roles, he shows that he can actually act. Also nominated for 8 Oscars, it romped away with the Best Picture film in 1989 beating the likes of Mississippi Burning, Working Girl and Dangerous Liaisons. The film highlighted the condition known as Autism and thrust it to the fore in the biggest way possible and Dustin Hoffman’s portrayal of Raymond Babbitt was truly inspirational. For me though, it was Tom Cruise that surprised a lot of people.

Lastly, I was torn between two. Both historical dramas, I will side with Schindler’s List over The King’s Speech. A true story and one of the few films that I have seen in my life that can make me cry buckets. The cast was great with Liam Neeson, Ben Kingsley and Ralph Fiennes in one of his earlier movie roles really showing what they could do in front of camera. The movie took home 7 Oscars, including the Best Picture in 1994 and is regularly featured in the top 10 of one of the best films ever made. IMDB rates it an 8.9 and it sits at No. 7 of its Top 250 movies. If you haven’t seen the movie which is shot in black and white except for a couple of short sequences, then you really must get around to it. Incredibly sad, moving and distressing in places, but you may never feel the same way about some other movies again.

So let’s have your choices people. What are your favourite Best Picture Oscar Award winners?