Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

0000001077_350In 1996, a single was released by Swedish born pop star Neneh Cherry. She had some success in the late 80s with singles like Manchild and Buffalo Stance, but I had never really liked her style or music that much. The song that really made me sit up and take notice was called “Woman” which in its own right is a really good song, but the video was just so unusual, and it compliments the song perfectly.

Featuring amongst its cast is one Andy Serkis (the man behind Gollum from Lord of the Rings and Caesar from the Planet of the Apes movies). Of course at the time I didn’t know who he was, and neither did anyone else I suppose, but its great that someone has the presence of mind to hire this guy to interact with invisible items even way back then in 1996, years before Peter Jackson came along and gave him a job.

Long before he lost "His Precious"

Long before he lost “His Precious”

The video itself is extremely clever and I love the invisible gun firing, it just makes the video for me, it’s a moment that makes the hairs on the back of your neck stand on end and it is superbly acted by both men in the video. I hope you like it as much as I do…let me know in the comments below =)

