Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

And so, here we are once more with another A-Z Challenge. It’s hard to believe that a whole year has passed since the last one. So much has changed in my life, but as ever I am here again to give you my A-Z which I revealed on the 23rd of March as Some Of My Favourite Music Videos.

I think we should get straight on with A, which is for the Norwegian band A-Ha.

Take_On_Me_cover1985 was a phenomenal year for A-Ha, their debut album Hunting High And Low was a massive global success and spawned 2 international hits, The Sun Always Shines On TV and Take On Me. It is the latter of these that I have picked for today’s post as the video was simply a stunning piece of work by director Steve Barron and animated by Michael Patterson and Candace Reckinger.

I love the way the live action and the pencil drawn sequences fit together so seamlessly, particularly as the camera rotates around the frame that lead singer Morten Harket stands behind. As for the song itself, it has stood the test of time and still sounds great today, but there is no doubt in my mind that it was the video that made the song such a great success, and the exposure the band received from the video being played on MTV (when it actually played music videos) made them a big hit around the world until their eventual retirement in 2011 with their final single Butterfly, Butterfly, which by some sort of nice nostalgic design was also directed by Steve Barron.

hqdefaultEnjoy my choice for “A” and please leave your comments and memories of this song and video in the box below =)

