Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Oscars1Today is the big day. Today is the day that we finally find out what The Academy has nominated for this years Oscars. The best films, the best actors, the best technical skills and musical abilities. Today is the day that I make a whole load of predictions and then am completely wrong come February, lol.

Hosted by Neil Patrick Harris, which is going to be “legen..wait for it..dary!” The guy has come a long way since the days of Doogie Howser eh? 2014 has provided us with a very good crop of material to choose from for this year’s awards. I shall now give you a few predictions from the big categories as to what I think will win the statues.

Best Film – The Theory Of Everything
Best Director – Richard Linklater (Boyhood)
Best Actor – Eddie Redmayne (The Theory Of Everything)
Best Actress – Felicity Jones (TheĀ  Theory Of Everything)
Best Supporting Actor – Mark Ruffalo (Foxcatcher)
Best Supporting Actress – Emma Stone (Birdman)
Best Animated Feature – Big Hero 6
Best Screenplay (Original) – Birdman
Best Screenplay (Adapted) – The Imitation Game

So, that is my list of winners in February, but I will focus now on the Best Film category. On the 8th of January I made my prediction as to what the nominees would be for the main category this year, here is my list:

1. Unbroken (3)
2. The Imitation Game (5)
3. The Theory of Everything (8)
4. The Hobbit: Battle of Five Armies (5)
5. Birdman (4)
6. American Sniper (3)
7. Foxcatcher (3)
8. Into The Woods (2)
9. Boyhood (7)

I don’t think it will be the full house of 10 movies and The Hobbit may not get a look in, but I put it in on the strength that the final Lord of the Rings movies was nominated when it was released and the same may happen here for Peter Jackson’s latest effort. As for the amount of nominations these films may receive? I’ve put that number in brackets.

I shall re-visit this part of today’s blog later after the nominations have been announced to see how far out I am here, lol. Looking forward to it. If you want to watch the Oscar Nominations here in the UK, you can via YouTube on THIS link.

