Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Quad_BC_AW_[26237] Imitation Game, TheThis Oscar season is beginning to pick up pace now isn’t it? Lets kick on with yet another movie based on true events, and to be honest I wasn’t sure about this one until I caught a clip of the movie and I changed my mind.

The Imitation Game is the story of how Alan Turing and a few other mathematical geniuses managed to crack the Nazi Enigma Code in World War II. It stars Benedict Cumberbatch as Turing and also features the likes of Keira Knightly, Charles Dance and Rory Kinnear.

The story of The Enigma Machine is well-known, but its nice to have a little more focusing on the man who invented a machine in order to break the codes that were, in essence, winning Germany the war. Turing predicted that if the Allies could break Enigma, the war would be shortened by years, saving millions of lives in the process.

Director Morten Tyldum, in his first English film, really captures the story brilliantly, but its a mixture of script, direction and magnificent performances from the cast that make this movie very worthy of its Oscar talk. Cumberbatch, as you would expect, is masterful in the lead role and we see a whole new side to the history and mental capacity of Alan Turing. History records that he was convicted of being a homosexual which is a concept completely alien to myself despite what he did for our country and ending the war. He later killed himself and its an absolute outrage that the man was not pardoned for his “crime” a lot earlier than he was, only in 2013 did that happen!

I thought the film was fabulous and it will definitely get some nominations and I think in the big categories aswell. It was nominated for 5 Golden Globes yet failed to convert any to wins. I find this quite surprising, so The Oscars should be quite interesting for me.

I have to say that for history buffs and drama fans, they will enjoy this movie just as I did. There are some quite comedic moments in the film aswell, in particular Turing’s actual interview for the job with the Royal Navy – the exchanges are quick, funny and very well written and do take the edge off the actual seriousness of the movie.

I will give the film a wholesome 4stars

Trailer:

