Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

raid-2-jock-1

Synopsis: Set a short time after the events of the first movie, our hero Rama goes undercover to infiltrate a crime family and bring down the thugs and corrupt police in Jakarta.

Main Cast: Iko Uwais, Arifin Putra, Tio Pakusodewo, Oka Antara, Alex Abbad, Julie Estelle

The Hype: From the reaction and critical response the first movie got, big things are expected from the follow-up film. With a bigger budget and a more experienced cast, you would think that this film would be out of this world considering the success of the first.

What I Thought: Let me first get this straight. I loved the first film. The Raid was both innovative and exciting to watch and kind of raised the bar for martial arts movies. The Raid 2 however, failed to excite me in the same way. I don’t know whether it was lost in translation, but to me the plot was very disjointed and the hunt for the corrupt policemen storyline very quickly became non-existent. This did spoil the film somewhat for me, but the action, the fight scenes and the violence are all just as present as in the first film, perhaps this sequel is even more violent.

Conclusions: A storyline which is disjointed and loses its way quite early on, but excellent fight scenes and violence aplenty make this a good watch, but a poor sequel.

Smurfin’ The Web Rating: 3star

Trailer:

