Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Z” is for Zoolander (2001)

zzzzzzz…WAKE UP! I know, I’ve been banging on about movies now for the best part of a month now, but this is the last one I promise, lol. Zoolander ends my list of must see movies and I think this is an underrated comedy classic.

Ben Stiller stars in this madcap comedy about the world of male modelling and just how ridiculous these people can be. Written and directed by Ben Stiller, his brand of comedy really appeals to me and its the stupidity of it that makes it so funny.

MV5BODI4NDY2NDM5M15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNzEwOTMxMDE@._V1_SX214_There is a really good cast here including Owen Wilson and Milla Jovovich, but I think the star of the show here is Will Ferrell who gives one of the best performances of his career as the evil Mugatu,the bizarre fashion designer who plans to kill the Prime Minister of Malaysia by brainwashing the incredibly stupid Derek Zoolander.

There are also many cameo performances here. Ok, so the production value isn’t all that great and some of the jokes may be lost on a lot of people, but I like the way the movie takes the mickey out of the whole fashion world and how ridiculous it can all appear to the normal person who has no involvement in that industry whatsoever.

As comedies go, I rate it up there as one of the best. I don’t suppose there are many folk that will agree with me but there is just something about it that appeals to me and I would recommend it to anyone if they haven’t seen it. A sequel is in the works and I personally cannot wait, but I don’t know how long it is going to take to actually come to fruition, maybe even never in the end. Who knows?

Fun Fact: Owen Wilson says “Who you tryin’ to get crazy with ‘ese? Don’t you know I’m loco?” These are the opening lines to the Cypress Hill song “Insane in the Brain”

