Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Q” is for The Quick & The Dead (1995)

quite possibly at the time one of the finest ensemble casts you could possibly hope to get in a movie. Sharon Stone, Gene Hackman, Leonardo DiCaprio, Tobin Bell, Russell Crowe, Lance Henrikson, Gary Senise.

Wow, some amount of big names there. Now this is a movie that I saw when it came out and I just loved the story. A typical revenge tale, but I love the way that it is done and I have always been a fan of the modern way of making Westerns. I wasn’t a huge fan of the 50s type, but there have been some crackers in recent years. This is one.

Ellen (Sharon Stone) is a female gunslinger. Not something you see everyday I guess. She enters a shooting contest in order to get close to and kill the main guy in town whom she has set her sights on for something that happened to her family a long time ago. As I said, I was never a fan of the old-fashioned Gary Cooper type Western movie; you know, the Cowboys and Indians thing. I used to play it often enough as a kid mind you…Since the genre pretty much went out of fashion there have been a number of really good Westerns made and The Quick & The Dead makes my list, partly because I like it but mostly because I couldn’t think of many movies that I would drop everything for that started with the letter “Q”, lol

MV5BMTcxNTA4MjQ4NF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMzM2OTkxMQ@@._V1_SY317_CR5,0,214,317_Directed by Sam Raimi and made on a budget of around $30M, the film was a commercial flop which I found surprising considering the cast and their popularity at the time. Still, I did see it at the cinema and remember enjoying it a lot. I haven’t seen it for a number of years and will perhaps get a hold of the movie and give it another watch. You wait, I’ll probably think its a load of rubbish now, lol.

The film features a pretty young Leonardo DiCaprio as “The Kid“. Who would have thought that he would go on to star in some of the biggest films ever made, and yet he still hasn’t won that Best Leading Actor Oscar. He certainly wouldn’t have won it for this film, but he has done many films since that he should have won it for. If you are a fan of Westerns, then perhaps this is a film for you. Do you prefer the old 50s films, or the modern-day way of making Westerns? Let me know in the comments below. Safe to say, this isn’t the last Western to feature in my list, so do come back and see what else I have in store for you. Speaking of stores…I’m off to rent out The Quick & The Dead. #willibedisappointed

Fun Fact: Sam Raimi’s original ending didn’t work, so he went to Sony Pictures to ask for a writer to fix it. The studio suggested Joss Whedon, who saw the movie and fixed the ending for Raimi in one afternoon. Perhaps some early inspiration for Firefly there?

