Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The_World's_End_poster

Synopsis: 5 friends reunite to attempt the pup crawl they never complete when they were younger. 20 something years have passed and all is not what it seems in the village of Newton Haven.

Main Cast: Simon Pegg, Nick Frost, Martin Freeman, Eddie Marsan, Paddy Considine, Rosamund Pike, Pierce Brosnan, David Bradley

The Hype: The final installment of the Cornetto Trilogy, following Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz, The World’s End takes a trip into science fiction. This wasn’t as successful as the previous two movies and a lot was spent on this one.

What I Thought: Absolute rubbish. In fact I put it in the same category of rubbish as Shaun of the Dead which I personally found crap. The only one of the trilogy I have liked is Hot Fuzz. This one was completely devoid of any discernible humour and although the production factor was much better in this one than in other films, I think it cost the film-makers in the end. 6 years to finish the trilogy was too much of a break I think and the run of success has come to an end for Pegg and Frost. I get the feeling that opinion will differ right across the board on this one as I seem to be the only person on the planet that really doesn’t rate Shaun of the Dead. I wouldn’t recommend The World’s End though.

Conclusions: Good production, funny cast, but poor jokes and nothing new. Too much of a break in between movies aswell and the moment has passed this one by.

Smurfin’ The Web Rating: 1.5stars

Trailer:

