Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

man-of-steel

Synopsis: A young man has to face his true self after Earth is threatened by people from his own planet. For Clark Kent, his quiet unassuming personality will have to change and his alter ego revealed to the world if it is to survive.

Main Cast: Henry Cavill, Amy Adams, Michael Shannon, Russell Crowe, Diane Lane, Kevin Costner, Antje Traue, Richard Schiff

The Hype: Following on from the successful Batman reboot. Man Of Steel attempts to do the same with Superman. Although it proved not to be as popular as Iron Man 3 I think it was a successful venture back into the world of Clark and Superman.

What I Thought: I liked it although it does have its negative points. Superman has always been one of my favourite superheroes and I loved the older films starring Christopher Reeve. Apparently when Superman Returns was being filmed, Henry Cavill was wanted by director Bryan Singer but was filming The Tudors and Brandon Routh got the part. I have to say I like both in the role. Brandon brought a lot of Reeve’s Superman and the goofiness of Kent into the part, whereas Cavill is a calmer, more settled character and was perfect for this particular script. The special effects at the start of the movie on Krypton are visually stunning and I think there may be a nomination at some awards in there for it. The story itself was a slightly different take on Superman II but I did enjoy it. The downside was the fact that the fight sequences were too long and once again in a film like this, a computer generated effects-fest which was disappointing. The film ends up too long as a result. If the fights were cut shorter and less frequent, then it would have been a really, REALLY good movie.

Conclusions: Too much CGI and longer than necessary fight scenes pull down my mark on this film which I did enjoy, but it could have been better. On the back of this and the really disappointing Batman trilogy, I don’t hold out much hope for The Justice League which will follow the same pattern of a reasonable storyline that will be spoiled by computers and length in order to make back its subsequent budget.

Smurfin’ The Web Rating: 3stars

Trailer:

