Papasmurf1

Well then dear readers. I’m back and raring to go following a tough few months in which my family and I have gone through what are probably the most stressful things that you can in your lifetime. Being a fully fledged graduate of the Thickheads University of course, I decided to do them all at the same time…

1. We have relocated. Leaving grey Aberdeen behind, we have moved to Blyth in Northumberland, which is in the North East of England. Yet another beautiful part of the country and with many things to see and do, perhaps more so than around Aberdeen. The reason we have sold up and moved was mainly a financial one, but also family orientated. I have had to leave my parents behind which is a shame because it has been nice visiting them with my son Xander as he loves going there, even if it isn’t as often as I would like. Kell has also had to leave her Dad and Stepmum in Braemar aswell, so visits will have to be much less frequent now.

Like I said, we sold our flat, in which we have lived for 8 years and brought up Xander in for the last 5 years. We were hoping to buy down here in Blyth, but unfortunately it all fell through and so we have had to find an alternative for the short-term, but hopefully in a year or so we can try again to buy a bigger place which leads me on to the next piece of news…

2. We now have TWO sons. Joshua Yul Smurthwaite was born on the 10th of October by C-Section at Wansbeck Hospital weighing in at a hefty 8 pounds and 15 ounces! Kell’s labour was progressing well, but unfortunately, Josh was not and he decided to wrap the umbilical cord around his neck 4 times and lie sideways. Awkward bugger lol. I am currently on my last week of paternity leave and back to work next week. He’s the double of his big brother Xander who simply adores his new little brother and takes every opportunity to kiss and cuddle him.

IMG_20131017_100511

3. I am now pretty good at finding my way around the area although there seems to be a few more nutters around here on the dual carriageways. I have had a go at the local quiz night on a Sunday (and won) and have started eating curry. OK so it’s from a jar, who cares? Kell is happy I’m just having that, lol.

4. We had so much TV stuff to catch up on aswell. We are about halfway through that and I have a few movies to review and get posted up on here so I will get on to that as soon as I get the chance. For now though, I’ll leave you with a couple of family pics and one from Alnwick Castle where we visited on Sunday (they filmed Harry Potter there). Enjoy and thanks for reading.

IMG_20131010_174332

Alnwick castle

Xander Means Business

