Eurovision_Song_Contest_2013_logo

Well this is the final blog post regarding the actual songs and entrants in this year’s Eurovision Song Contest. First of all, I have to make an amendment to my p0st in Blog Four regarding Belarus’ song. They have since changed it from “Rhythm of Love” to “Solayoh“. The exact reason for this is unknown. So here is the final choice for Belarus. The artist is still the same though.


So with that out of the way, I still need to get the last 3 of the Big 5 on here. I already mentioned the UK’s Bonnie Tyler and Sweden’s own entry in Blog Three. Tonight, I bring you Italy and France and Spain.

franceFirst up, France. Their entry “L’Enfer Et Moi” (Hell and Me) is performed by Amandine Bourgeois. It’s a dark sounding track. I think this one will split opinion on the night. It doesn’t have the dance impact that a lot of entries have this year, but there is something sinister about it that certainly gives it appeal. Personally, I think it’s ok and it didn’t make me immediately want to switch it off which is always a good start. See what you guys think…

3stars

italySecondly, we come to Italy. Marco Mengoni’s song “L’Essenziale” is your typical male vocal ballad song. Italy have finished in the top 10 for the last 3 years and in the top 5 for two of those years, so their record is pretty good in recent years. This song might have enough to make it into the top 10 again, but I don’t think its good enough to actually win the contest. There are a few far better songs out there for 2013 and I reckon he will do well on the night, but not quite well enough I’m afraid.

2stars


spainAnd finally, Spain. I think they have chosen a very decent song this year and although I don’t think it is strong enough to win, it might pick up some votes from around them. ESDM’sContigo Hasta El Final” (With You Until The End) is one of the rockier entries this year and having heard it a couple of times now, it has grown on me a little. No 12 points from Portugal this year though as they aren’t participating. With the Celtic sound the record has, they might get some votes from the UK and Ireland.

3stars


And that’s it folks! All 39 entries have now been reviewed and on Monday I shall bring you my predictions and who I think will qualify from the first semi final. I hope you will join me. =)

