Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

a-z badge

As we near the end of my journey through modes of transport in TV & Film, the obvious choice for “Y” was the Y-Wing from Star Wars, but instead I thought I would surprise you all with my expertise in internet research and tell you about the Space Battleship Yamato.

Developed in the 70s, this was an anime series from Japan. It basically is a cross between Star Wars and Battlestar Galactica, but out before either of them, so that begs a question, was Yamato ripped off by Hollywood? Answer – probably…as usual. The Yamato is a giant battleship in space with awesome weaponry and fighting the great fight against evil oppressors. Its pretty much World War II in space.

02756-05475

In 2010, a live action movie was released and some of the original characters were recast as women for a modern audience. I have to admit that I haven’t actually seen this movie, but on the strength of the following video, I may just have to try to watch it one night. The special effects remind me of that classic show Babylon 5 and these action scenes do look pretty epic. Tomorrow, I will finish off my A-Z Challenge so I hope you stop by for it.

