Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

roadblock

Synopsis: The Joes have to battle against a corrupt government and the deadly organisation known as Cobra in order to prevent a world disaster. Failure will result in the extinction of the G.I Joes forever.

Main Cast: Dwayne Johnson, Brice Willis, Channing Tatum, Jonathan Pryce, Adrianne Palicki, Ray Stevenson, Ray Park, Arnold Vosloo

The Hype: The first movie was very successful and I have to say that even I enjoyed it after initially being very sceptical of how it would do at the box office. The success of the first movie obviously gave the studio enough of an excuse to make another and it would appear that G.I Joe: Retaliation will be just as big of a hit than its predecessor.

What I Thought: Enjoyable enough. This is one of those films that I like to class as a “no brainer”. Sometimes it is good just to watch this kind of thing and unwind. The storyline is the usual “world domination” gig, but with a major name cast list and some really great action sequences, I can see the attraction to this type of film. I did enjoy the first movie and although I wouldn’t say that this is quite as good in terms of story, the action makes up for it and its pretty much an hour and a half of martial arts, 3D effects, and The Rock being moody. I didn’t see it in 3D, but you can spot the stand out moments in it and they probably did look great with the glasses on. Bruce Willis is of course his usual great self, but doesn’t get enough screen time for my liking.

Conclusions: Usual storyline, great action, perfect to wind down at the weekend after a long week’s work.

Smurfin’ The Web Rating: 3.5stars

Trailer:

