Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Oz-The-Great-and-Powerful-poster

Synopsis: A prequel movie that tells the back story of how the wizard came to be in Oz in the first place and would of course meet Dorothy years later on her quest. This film is all about the magician Oz and whether he is to become a good man or a great one.

Main Cast: James Franco, Mila Kunis, Rachel Weisz, Michelle Williams, Zach Braff, Bill Cobbs, Joey King, Tony Cox.

The Hype: Most adaptations of Oz material cause a buzz somewhere along the line and this big budget production is no exception. The trailer looked terrific and the cast equally so. It hasn’t been out for very long but has made a very good start to its box office return, but I think this one will be a slow burner.

What I Thought: Personally, I think this is an excellent movie. The story is what makes it work for me. There are a lot of nods to the 1939 Judy Garland movie aswell which I really like. That movie is an all time classic and I think that any sort of continuity into that is great and a job well done. We also see the back story of not only the wizard, but other characters in the world of Oz aswell (I’m not giving anything away). The cast does a great job and the witches in particular are well done, Mila Kunis made the movie a particular highlight for me, she is not only absolutely stunning, but she plays her character very well and according to her in an interview recently, the whole cast has signed on for at least one sequel. I kind of hope they don’t now do a reboot of the 1939 Wizard of Oz, but at the same time, I kind of hope they do, just to see. On the strength of Oz the Great and Powerful, they could get away with it.

Conclusions: Visually stunning, vibrant colours, nice introduction to the main film, great character interpretation by the cast and the story is hugely enjoyable.

Smurfin’ The Web Rating: 4stars

Trailer:

