Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

oscar

Well, its time for another of my Oscar blog posts, and I’ve finally managed to get around to seeing Wreck-It Ralph, the latest Disney movie and one in which Pixar Studios have not been involved in. This was a trailer I saw some time ago and wasn’t too bothered by to be honest, but other convinced me to watch the whole movie.

wreck-it-ralph-hub

Synopsis: A arcade game character becomes disillusioned with his life as a bad guy and decides to better himself by winning a medal to show the folks in his own game that he can be more than just the guy that wrecks everything.

Main Cast: John C Reilly, Sarah Silverman, Alan Tudyk, Jane Lynch, Dennis Haysbert, Jack McBrayer

The Hype: After already taking its budget back at the box office, this will be a sure-fire DVD hit for the kids aswell and it is also nominated for the Best Animated Feature Oscar at this years awards.

What I Thought: I thought this movie was actually pretty good considering I hadn’t been that bothered about it after the release of the trailer. I guess when it comes down to it follows the usual Disney formula where good triumphs over evil with the realisations of the main characters in between times. That’s okay though because it’s a good message to send to kids and I’m all for that. What I did like though were all the references to video games of days gone by and the fact that they were able to “dull down” the graphics to make them look exactly how they used to when that was all that was possible. The music is quite cool aswell and helps with the pace of the film. I did think it felt longer than it was though, and it was certainly longer than the typical Disney film.

Conclusions: Very nicely animated, good message story and pacey music make this a non boring movie for both kids and adults and if you get the chance to see this, don’t miss it. If it is to win the Oscar, then personally, I think it has Brave to beat which won the BAFTA last night.

Smurfin’ The Web Rating: 4stars

Trailer:

