Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

oscar

Well, I’m am almost complete in my list of movies that I am going to review for the 2013 Academy Awards. Today I thought I would check out Hitchcock which is the new movie starring Anthony Hopkins and Helen Mirren about the legendary director, Alfred Hitchcock.

New-Hitchcock-Poster-Detail

Synopsis: Rather than spanning Hitchcock’s whole career which we all know was hugely successful for the most part, this movie concerns itself with one part of it; a film by the name of Psycho. The tale of how he made this film is told here and also the relationships he had with his wife and the stars he directed in the classic horror.

Main Cast: Anthony Hopkins, Helen Mirren, Scarlett Johansson, Michael Wincott, Jessica Biel, James D’Arcy

The Hype: This one seems to have slipped under a lot of radars recently. The trailer looked interesting and for a while I wasn’t going to bother with it. I’m not sure if this will be a hit or not, but it has been nominated for one Oscar in the makeup section so there is some buzz about it and I’m sure the stars will be out in force on Oscar night.

What I Thought: For a while I wasn’t going to bother with this one, but I sat down with my wife to give it a go. I am glad that I did as I thought this was a very good movie. At 98 minutes long it’s a perfect length for telling a small part of the life of one of the most famous director’s in cinema history. The film doesn’t come across in any way as pretentious and it doesn’t try to be clever, although there are some nice acknowledgements to Hitchcock’s style in the opening few minutes of the movie. Hopkins is superb as the “Master of Suspense” and really pulls it off well in both speech and actions. Helen Mirren plays his wife and as you would expect does a great job, there is little she can’t turn her hand to really.

The story is engaging and even Scarlett Johansson manages to keep you interested playing the part of Janet Leigh very well. There are quite a few faces that have a small amount of screen time here, but overall the film is focussed mainly on how the marriage of the Hitchcocks coped with mortgaging the house to pay for the movie when Paramount refused to finance the project. The score takes a lot of influence from the music of Hitchcock’s films without being too obvious and in the end what you get is a good insight to how Hitchcock worked and how he managed to turn “something very ordinary into something extraordinary” – to quote Janet Leigh herself,  with ease.

Conclusions: Good story, perfect length, brilliant cast and there is nothing boring about this film to make you switch off. In fact the film seems to go quite quickly if anything because of how it sucks you into the world of Alfred Hitchcock.

Smurfin’ The Web Rating: 3.5stars

Trailer:

