Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

oscar

Time for another dose of Oscar reviewage for you all. Life Of Pi has been a best-selling novel. Written by Yann Martel, it was quickly snapped up and adapted for the big screen and was released just before Christmas last year.

Life-Of-Pi-all-set-for-an-Excellent-1st-Week-Box-Office-Collections-in-India

Synopsis: A young Indian man is the sole survivor of a terrible ship’s disaster that sets himself, a zebra, hyena, orangutan and tiger adrift in the middle of the Pacific Ocean. Many trials will be experienced if he is to make it back to the world alive.

Main Cast: Suraj Sharma, Rafe Spall, Irrfan Khan, Tabu, Adil Hussain, Gerard Depardieu

The Hype: Mega hype about this one. The makers have really cashed in on the massive success of the novel which is loved around the world. This is a big budget affair but it has taken at least four times that at cinemas globally. It is tipped for Oscar success and has been nominated for 11 statues in acting, directing and technical areas.

What I Thought: Well, for me it’s “alright”. I would wager that lovers of the book will love this film and its adaptation. There are some funny parts during the journey, some sad parts and there is some excitement also, but on the whole it wasn’t one of those films that had me on the edge of my seat or emotionally charged like other films I have seen this year have. It’s one that I can say I have seen and that is about all it does for me.

Having said that it’s not a badly made film, quite the opposite. The direction, special effects and story are all very good and it will walk away with some Oscars this year. Some of the scenes of the movie may well have been quite spectacular in 3D. The CGI is also particularly well done especially the scenes involving the tiger on the boat and it is for technical reason that I give it a good rating overall. I can take or leave the rest.

Conclusions: Not really my kind of thing, but well made and acted. It is sure to win awards and it has certainly appealed to fans of the book and probably will for years to come. I think my wife is sure to disagree with this rating 😉

Smurfin’ The Web Rating: 3stars

Trailer:

