Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

oscar

Time for another dose of Oscar excitement and another of the major contenders for a lot of awards this year. With a total of eight nominations in a wide range of categories, Les Misérables has a big name cast, a big name director who has previously won an Oscar and it also has the added zest of being a musical. Here is my review.

les mis main

Synopsis: A freed convict breaks his lifetime parole to start again following 19 years in a French prison. He raises the child of a former employee of this who tragically dies due to his indirect treatment of her. Meanwhile the policeman who is on the case to find the prisoner will not stop at anything to get his man.

Main Cast: Hugh Jackman, Russell Crowe, Anne Hathaway, Eddie Redmayne, Sacha Baron-Cohen, Amanda Seyfreid, Helena Bonham Carter, Aaron Tveit, Samantha Barks

The Hype: Hugely anticipated, even for a musical. This film has a big budget, big name cast and will take big bucks at the cinema for sure. There aren’t a lot of negatives coming out from reviewers about this movie.

What I Thought: I thought this was a very fine piece of movie making. I’m not the biggest fan of musicals, but I love the story and remember reading it as a child. I have my favourite parts in the story such as the exchanges between Javert and Valjean. The music is very stirring and extremely well performed by the actors. Hugh Jackman who has a history of musical performance is excellent as the main character Jean Valjean and he is aged very well throughout the course of the film. One of the few negatives I had read about the movie was the performance of Russell Crowe. I think this is a little unfair as I thought he was brilliant as Inspector Javert; his singing is consistent and for me he was one of the highlights of the film.

Anne Hathaway’s role in the film as Fantine is major plot point, but her screen time isn’t that long and personally I don’t think her part is big enough to warrant a Best Supporting Actress nomination, although she is superb in the role and sings beautifully. The design of the film is expertly done and you can see that a lot of work has gone into making this a big contender for awards this year. I enjoyed the movie, but mainly because I like the story and some performances pleased me.

Conclusions: Very well made, some great performances and very true to the book as I remember it. Les Misérables will definitely win some Oscars this year.

Smurfin’ The Web Rating: 4stars

Trailer:

