Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

oscar

Time to hit you up with another film that I think has a shot at some awards this year. In my Oscar series last time around I claimed that Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close was one of the best films of the year. Unfortunately, in my opinion, it was sold very short. I have a feeling that The Impossible isn’t going to be quite so hard done by.

the-impossible-poster

Synopsis: The movie tells the true story of one family who were caught up in the terrible Indian Ocean tsunami on Boxing Day 2004. Get ready to take out the tissues folks, you’re going to need them.

The Hype: Already coveting nominations in many awards including the Golden Globes, this film is attracting, for the most part, good attention. There was an unfortunate incident involving the trailer which was shown before The Hobbit and survivors of the disaster felt sideswiped by it when they saw it in cinemas. I can certainly understand this. I was perhaps a little disappointed that this didn’t sneak into the Best Picture category at The Oscars, but Naomi Watts has got a Best Actress nomination here, so not all bad.

Main Cast: Ewan McGregor, Naomi Watts, Tom Holland, Geraldine Chaplin, Samuel Joslin, Oaklee Pendergast, Marta Etura

What I Thought: Tissues please!? I knew that would happen. I found the trailer hard going but knew I had to see the movie for review purposes and I managed to get through it. Now I’m not saying that it is a bad thing, quite the opposite. The film is very, very good. Naomi Watts should be heading for a Best Actress nomination and even Ewan McGregor manages to turn one 30 second phone call heart wrenching. The star of the show though is Tom Holland who plays the eldest son Lucas Belon. Watch out for this kid in the future, his character hogs the screentime and he makes the best use of it particularly in the difficult moments of the film, he handles the emotions of the viewer with the experience of someone far older and I would hope that a Best Supporting Actor nomination would be offered up here, it would certainly be very well deserved.

This isn’t to detract from the other two young stars of the film who play the younger brothers of the family although their characters’ involvement is limited to key moments. The writing of the story is handled carefully and the filmmakers had complete support of the family whose tale is told here. It seems a shame to focus in on one family in such a disaster with so many affected, but I think that The Impossible is one of the films of the year and should be watched if you get a chance to see it.

Conclusions: Tough to watch at times emotionally, but worth it in terms of acting, story and outcome.

Smurfin’ The Web Rating: 4stars

Trailer:

