Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

cloud_atlas_poster

Synopsis: Six different storylines are depicted in  six different points in time. Do the actions of one person in the past affect the present and the future actions of others? Isolated acts of kindness change opinion and spark revolutions.

Main Cast: Tom Hanks, Halle Berry, Hugh Grant, Hugo Weaving, Jim Broadbent, Jim Sturgess, Jim D’Arcy, Doona Bae, Ben Whishaw

The Hype: One of the most hyped movies of the year from the minds that gave us The Matrix. Adapted from the similarly popular novel by author David Mitchell, Cloud Atlas was given a big budget and a who’s who of actors.

What I Thought: This WILL BE one of the biggest flops of the year. It may as well have been directed by Lars von Trier it is that pretentious. The storyline was overly complicated and seemed confused. Perhaps it was just me who has not understood the point of the movie, but in a good movie with a cast of this quality, I am looking for entertainment value and I just didn’t get that here. Its $100M budget has returned a mere 10th of that and when it is released in the UK in February 2013, I predict it will bomb just the same. It is very well made, don’t get me wrong, but all that was just wasted on me I’m afraid.

Conclusions: Too long, too convoluted, nicely shot, but failed to entertain. The lack of bums on seats would seem to agree with me.

Smurfin’ The Web Rating: 1smurf

Trailer:

