Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

 

Synopsis: The day-to-day lives of two cops documented by themselves take a dramatic turn after they start knocking on the wrong doors. Little do they know of what is to come knocking back.

Main Cast: Jake Gyllenhaal, Michael Pena, Natalie Martinez, Anna Kendrick, David Harbour, Frank Grillo, America Ferrera, Yahira Garcia

The Hype: Out in the UK today, the buzz has been going crazy lately and on IMDB, the hypometer has been up 1944%! I must admit, that I don’t usually look at movies that are hyped that much, but on a whim I decided to give it a shot. It’s cinema run in the US has been very successful.

What I Thought: Surprisingly good. I’m not Gyllenhaal’s biggest fan, but I did like him in Jarhead and I guess this movie is a similar style, in that its less about the story and more about the characters and how we get involved with them as people and more importantly here I think, as police officers. We see first person camera and how they interact with each other before, during and after incidents they deal with on the street. As for the story, the plot is a slow one, but you can see its leading up to something big and when the main focus hits, its hits hard and fast, making this a good film to watch because you know you are going to get a payoff. I think fans of the likes of Training Day and Narc will like this movie.

Conclusions: Not totally the “thrill ride” or “edge of seat-fest” its being billed as, but a good movie with decent character driven  storyline, worth a watch in my opinion.

Smurfin The Web Rating: A good

Trailer:

