Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

 

Synopsis: M’s past rears its ugly head and threatens to tear MI6 apart. James Bond has to track down the culprit before all MI6 agents are exposed to the world. Loyalty will be tested on all sides.

Main Cast: Daniel Craig, Judi Dench, Ralph Fiennes, Rory Kinnear, Javier Bardem, Naomie Harris, Albert Finney, Ben Whishaw, Berenice Marlohe

The Hype: This was the will it, won’t it happen Bond movie after the financial troubles at the movie studio, but eventually it got off the ground and I think this has been the most anticipated Bond film since Pierce Brosnan rejuvenated the franchise all those years ago. I think the box office is speaking for itself and it is selling tickets faster than they can be printed it seems making it the most successful Bond opening ever.

What I Thought: Brilliant! This has been my favourite Bond movie since GoldenEye and despite Daniel Craig (who isn’t the best Bond by any means) leading the cast, the movie has returned in pretty much every way to the roots of what Bond was all about. We see girls, we see gadgets – even some from the past – we see cars and I think what was most important for a lot of people, the opening credits were back on top form with how Bond titles SHOULD look. The theme tune is a true Bond classic. “Skyfall” performed by Adele sounds like a Bond song and I think that all these ingredients will make anyone who had turned their back on the franchise sit up and take notice. I was extremely disappointed with the last movie, but the trailer and theme song were enough to make me want to see this movie. I was not let down. Javier Bardem plays a bad guy in the same league as Blofeld and there are some nice surprises along the way.

Conclusions: Great story, great action, great theme, great titles and although there aren’t as many gadgets as I would have liked, they are great. I have warmed a little more to Daniel Craig, not in particular as Bond, but he does have an on-screen charisma that is likeable here and in recent movies I have seen him in.

Smurfin’ The Web Rating:

Trailer:

