Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Synopsis: In the future, time travel will allow the mob to get rid of bodies by sending them back in time where they will be met by a bullet fired from a gun by a “looper”. However, when Joe’s target turns out to be someone very unexpected, it’s a race against time to set things right and work out why things have not gone according to plan.

Main Cast: Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Bruce Willis, Emily Blunt, Jeff Daniels, Paul Dano, Noah Segan

The Hype: This has been hailed as a modern classic already and Hollywood buzz was massive before the release of this film. I do wonder to myself if it might get considered for Oscar treatment next year. IMDB rates it at 8.1 and it has been a huge success at the box office making most of it very modest budget back in the opening weekend.

What I Thought: Its great. I waited to see this until I was in the mood for something of this genre and I was not disappointed. The way time travel is dealt with is both original and clever, and once you have wrapped your head around how it has been done, you realise just how ingenious the whole concept is. Now onto the acting. Joseph Gordon-Levitt has been someone I have quietly admired since his days in 3rd Rock From The Sun, but in recent times he has pushed himself to the front of the queue and I honestly think he has a shot at a Best Actor nomination at next year’s Oscars. He manages to portray his future self perfectly and although prosthetics are used, this is only a small part of the whole performance. The style of the film is nice and although set in the future, the use of futuristic machines is very minimal which gives the film a very believable setting. In a lot of ways the film is very similar in style to Bladerunner, and this is no bad thing. The plot is completely different of course, but I got a sense of a lot of influence while watching it.

Conclusions: Clever, performed with aplomb, simple yet effective, nice influences and could easily be considered for awards next year. Although it doesn’t tick all the boxes for me in terms of plot and drama, I really liked what this film tries to do and I have to give it a great mark. Sci-Fi fans should like it, and if you’ve seen Bladerunner, or Minority Report, you will probably like this one too.

Smurfin’ The Web Rating:

Trailer:

