Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Synopsis: A playboy type owner of a publishing company finds his life taking a few confusing turns after a meeting with the woman of his dreams and a car accident involving another woman. The lines between dreams and reality suddenly become very blurred.

Main Cast: Tom Cruise, Penelope Cruz, Cameron Diaz, Kurt Russell, Jason Lee, Tilda Swinton

The Hype: At the time, Tom Cruise was hot property and everything he touched seem to turn to gold, I suppose much like these days. He followed Vanilla Sky with Minority Report and the science fiction genre seems to suit him. However, although successful, it was not as expected and it was not nearly as successful as its original movie Abre los Ojos (Open Your Eyes) which I really must get a hold of to see how it compares to its remake.

What I Thought: This is a “Marmite Movie” – You either love it or hate it. I am the former. I saw it when it first came out and I think it is one of the best movies of my generation and I have just watched it again. Its clever, confusing, multi genre, and if you stick with it you get to that point that makes it all become clear and you realise wtf is actually happening. The other side to the story is of course that you find it too confusing and decide to switch it off before you get to the moment of revelation. If you watch the movie on the strength of this review, then I urge you to stay with it, you won’t regret it. The performances are outstanding and I think that this is one of my favourite Cruise movies in his career. It also has a very haunting soundtrack by Nancy Wilson (of Heart fame) and tracks from the likes of Bob Dylan and Sigur Ros. It was only nominated for one Oscar, and unfortunately not one of the big ones. A huge loss in my opinion.

Conclusions: If you haven’t seen this film, it has to be included on a list of films you must see. It’s touching, fascinating, exciting, confusing, stimulating and although you might think it (on the surface) too intellectual – it really isn’t and the film is open to interpretation at the end. I like the way it is portrayed on screen, but everyone has a different opinion of what has actually happened.

Smurfin’ The Web Rating:

Trailer:

