Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Synopsis: This is a biopic from the point of view of the man himself looking back on his life and his role within the creation of,  and leadership of the FBI.

Main Cast: Leonardo DiCaprio, Armand Hammer, Naomi Watts, Judi Dench

The Hype: Widely regarded as a hot tip for an Oscar this year, it was one of the big snubs and this did cause some stir amongst the film critic world. Directed by Clint Eastwood, the movie didn’t even get one nomination for an Academy Award.

What I Thought: I can see why it didn’t get any nominations. It came across as slow, self-important, long-winded and well, basically a typically Eastwood directed movie. Unlike Unforgiven which did actually earn an Oscar and had some action in it at least, J Edgar did nothing to change the pace of the movie and make me feel for any of the characters.

Conclusions: It was 2 hours and 16 minutes that I could have spent doing something rather more fun and even as a fan of this period in time in America’s history, I found the film dull and boring. It’s not one I would recommend to many and although a lot of the performances were very good, it just didn’t give me what I expect in a biopic style of film. If I have to sum it up, it disappointed me in the same way The Iron Lady did.

Smurfin’ The Web Rating:

Trailer:

