Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Synopsis: A hunter happens across a drug deal gone bad in the middle of the desert and finds a case containing $2M. He is then forced to go on the run from a vicious killer intent on recovering the money at any cost.

Main Cast: Josh Brolin, Tommy Lee Jones, Javier Bardem, Woody Harrelson

The Hype: The movie won 4 Oscars in 2008 and having tried to watch the movie before and failed, I was determined to get through it to see if deserved the awards it won. A big success at the box office and having Jones and Brolin together in Men In Black III recently, I figured this could be decent.

What I Thought: Utter drivel. I was surprised at how long this film seemed to go on for. At 2 hours long, it felt like much more and was very slow going. I haven’t been a fan of the Coen Brothers other films like Fargo and The Big Lebowski and No Counrty For Old Men is no exception. How it won the best film Oscar in 2008 I will never know. Just total garbage. I am sorry to all the fans of this movie who may be reading this, but it just was not for me in any way. I stuck with it till the end – well I say “the end” not that there is one. This is another pet hate for me, I need films to have conclusions, this one does not and it’s just another nail in the coffin of this dead body of a movie.

Conclusions: If you don’t like the Coen Brothers, you won’t like this movie. Slow, no ending and dull throughout really, certainly too long and extremely overrated by critics and fans alike in my opinion. It was described in one YouTube trailer I saw for it as a “supercharged action thriller”; well I fail to see where the supercharger, made out with the action and the thrill, because I never saw any. Yaaawwnnn.

Smurfin’ The Web Rating:

Trailer:

