Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Synopsis: A highly trained SWAT team tries to infiltrate a tower block and capture its ruthless boss. They have to work their way up floor by floor and encounter multiple bad guys on the way. A high energy action film from basement to penthouse.

Main Cast: Iko Uwais, Joe Taslim, Donny Alamsyah, Yayan Ruhian, Verdi Solaiman, Tegar Satrya

The Hype: I first heard about this movie perhaps a year ago when I came across the trailer online and knew that I had to see it. I’ve been waiting ever since and this is going to be a massive cult hit this year, and now that it is out on DVD, it will be part of every action movie fans collection very soon.

What I Thought: It lived up to my expectations in every way. This is a high octane, full on action, violent martial arts movie as they should be. The choreography is outstanding, the direction original and the story isn’t half bad either. The premise is simple and director Gareth Evans who hails from Wales has got this movie just right. Although this is an Indonisian movie, with English subtitles, the translation is excellent and you lose nothing from this film despite the language barrier. If I compare it to Oldboy, I would say that I preferred that as it has a few more levels to work on, but as an action movie, The Raid is one of my favourites this year and I highly recommend it.

Conclusions: Action packed, well written and directed to the point that I am going to check out some more of Gareth Evans’ other movies. You must see this movie as soon as you get the chance.

Smurfin’ The Web Rating:

Trailer:

