Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s time for me to officially preview Tuesday night’s semi final for this year’s Eurovision Song Contest which as we all know is being held in Baku, Azerbaijan. There are 18 participants and only 10 go through to Saturday’s final.

Now in my experience, I have always found the first semi final to be the weaker of the two and this year I think that is just the same. There are some really good songs, some okay ones and some just plain dire ones. I will now give you the list of the 10 songs that I think will qualify for the final. Last year I got 6 out of the 10 correct so I’ll be hoping for at least that again this year.

Here are my picks for qualification from Semi Final 1:

ICELANDGréta Salóme & JónsiNever ForgetCLICK ME – I love this one.
GREECEEleftheria Eleftheriou – Aphrodisiac – CLICK ME – A typical Greek entry, certain to make it.
ROMANIAMandinga – Zaleilah – CLICK ME – A popular choice across the internet.
DENMARKSoluna Samay – Should’ve Known Better – CLICK ME – Something different, will sneak in.
RUSSIABuranovskiye Babushki – Party For Everybody – CLICK ME – Its awful but novelty…
IRELANDJedward – Waterline – CLICK ME – Not as good as last year’s effort but good enough.
HUNGARYCompact Disco – Sound Of Our Hearts – CLICK ME – Probably a wild card but a great track.
CYPRUSIvi AdamouLa La LoveCLICK ME – A big favourite to win the entire contest.
MOLDOVAPasha ParfenyLăutarCLICK ME – Fun and energetic, might appeal to some countries.
LATVIAAnmaryBeautiful SongCLICK ME – It will be all in the performance I think.

A good selection there I think, it will certainly set up a good final once Thursday’s selections are also added. I’ve also seen some of the rehearsal videos going about and I am pretty confident about my performances. Iceland is my favourite here though.

Enjoy the semi final everyone and catch me on Facebook during the show.

