Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Synopsis: In this adaptation of the Shakespeare tragedy, a banished hero of Rome, Caius Martius (Ralph Fiennes) seeks out and joins forces with his bitter rival Tullus Aufidius (Gerard Butler) in order to take his revenge on the city that treated him so badly after all he did for his country.

Main Cast: Ralph Fiennes, Gerard Butler, Brian Cox, Vanessa Redgrave, Jessica Chastain, James Nesbit.

The Hype: Shakespeare doesn’t really make big waves unless it’s directed by someone cool and has Leonardo DiCaprio in it. This play isn’t one of the main ones that always gets the movie treatment either, so don’t expect to hear much about this one in the news.

What I Thought: I always liked this story. The language at times is a little hard to follow, but a superb directorial debut from Fiennes himself ensures that you can still work out what is happening. This is a very contemporary version of Coriolanus, so although the language is traditional, the action is modern day and the blend is very nicely done. Even Gerard Butler manages to pull off Shakespeare with some aplomb. I enjoyed this movie a lot and would recommend it to fans of The Bard. I hope to see more of Fiennes behind the camera as this was a great start to his directing career. The action scenes are well done as would be in any war movie and carry the 2 hour length of the film with no problem. I certainly wasn’t bored.

Conclusions: Well filmed, expertly directed for a debut, good content and some nice action sequences. I reckon that if I were an English teacher, I would be showing my pupils this version for sure. Well worth a watch if you can follow the old speak.

Smurfin’ The Web Rating:

Trailer:

