The A-Z Blogging Challenge is something that I am taking part in for the first time. It has been going for a few years and is more popular that ever. The premise is very simple. Each day in April with the exception of a few Sundays, bloggers from around the world blog for 26 days in April with each day’s blog beginning with the next letter of the alphabet, so April 1st is “A”, the 2nd is “B” and so on. The subject of each blog can be anything as long as it is to do with the appropriate letter. Some people blog about anything, some people theme their blogs. I hope you enjoy reading some of my posts and if I would love to read your comments about my challenge.

“W” is for Roger Waters & The Wall

henever my best mate and I are drunk together, we normally end up having the same old argument about Pink Floyd. Which is the best lineup, the one with Roger Waters or the one without and Dave Gilmour was the frontman instead. In the end we always agree to disagree as both lineups produced some great all time classic albums. My favourite Pink Floyd album is The Wall. Many say that is a very depressing listening experience. I find it quite uplifting actually and enjoy every track on it.

When the Berlin Wall came down in 1989, Roger Waters decided to put on a show of The Wall to mark this momentous occasion in history and in addition to Waters himself performing the parts he originally had, there were many other guest appearances such as Bryan Adams, Cyndi Lauper, Paul Carrack, Thomas Dolby, Albert Finney and Tim Curry plus more. The concert was filmed for a DVD release and its a show I never tire of watching. Here is “Comfortably Numb” from that show. Check out the guitarists during the solos – it just gives you an idea of the scale of this production. Incredible!

