Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I finally saw this movie! I’ve waited bloody ages to see it after catching the trailer last year and I wasn’t disappointed. If you are a fan of the first movie, then you’ll like this film.

Following on from the first movie, Sherlock Holmes, played by Robert Downey Jnr once again, is involved with Irene Adler and manages to foil a plot to blow up an auction house. Little does he know that events after this will lead him into a dangerous game of cat and mouse against his most evil adversary to date, Professor James Moriarty. (Jared Harris)

Joining Holmes on this treacherous journey is his loyal and trusted friend Dr. John Watson (Jude Law), who actually gets married during this movie and his stag night is certainly one he won’t forget in a hurry. During this evening of debauchery, Holmes meets a gypsy woman named Simza (Noomi Rapace) and the plot for the rest of the movie is revealed and its up to Holmes, Watson and Simza to stop Moriarty who is just as clever as Holmes. One of the stand out performances for me was Stephen Fry as Sherlock’s brother Mycroft.

I’ve never been a huge fan of director Guy Ritchie, but I did like the first Sherlock movie. I thought it was a good take on the character. The only thing that let it down for me was Downey Jnr mumbling a lot of the time which he seemed to correct this time around. The whole look of the film this time was much better and there are some really great slow motion action scenes cut with full speed stuff which is brilliantly done. All in all I loved this movie and can easily give it an exemplary 8/10 and look forward to another installment of Sherlock Holmes if it ever happens. I think one more movie would be enough though, best not to spoil a good thing I think.

