The A-Z Blogging Challenge is something that I am taking part in for the first time. It has been going for a few years and is more popular that ever. The premise is very simple. Each day in April with the exception of a few Sundays, bloggers from around the world blog for 26 days in April with each day’s blog beginning with the next letter of the alphabet, so April 1st is “A”, the 2nd is “B” and so on. The subject of each blog can be anything as long as it is to do with the appropriate letter. Some people blog about anything, some people theme their blogs. I hope you enjoy reading some of my posts and if I would love to read your comments about my challenge.

“P” is for John Petrucci

laying guitar has always been a love of mine although I haven’t played in quite some time in recent times and really should pick it up again. Seeing as I missed showcasing Dreamtheater for “D” this month, I figured I would at least give you one member of this incredible band during the A-Z Challenge.

I was first introduced to John Petrucci’s music by a very good friend of mine and from that moment I was in love with the band; so much so that I even have their logo tattooed on my right shoulder. As the lead guitarist of the band Dreamtheater, he has become one of the best in the world, if not THE best. I’ve seen the band live, even been backstage and met the man himself and he (as well as the rest of the band) are very down to earth and quite normal. They all lead family lives but when they are on stage, they simply will blow you away for 3 hours. If you like progressive rock music and you get a chance to see them, you should take it. Value for money you will get!

Petrucci himself has released one solo album of instrumental music so far, but to give you a full experience of what he is capable of, here is a clip from Dreamtheater’s Metroplois Pt II concert in New York from 2000. This introduction to the track “Through Her Eyes” is to me, breathtaking and completely improvised on the spot along with the stunning vocals from Theresa Thomason. I hope you enjoy this, it still makes the hairs on the back of my neck stand on end.

