The A-Z Blogging Challenge is something that I am taking part in for the first time. It has been going for a few years and is more popular that ever. The premise is very simple. Each day in April with the exception of a few Sundays, bloggers from around the world blog for 26 days in April with each day’s blog beginning with the next letter of the alphabet, so April 1st is “A”, the 2nd is “B” and so on. The subject of each blog can be anything as long as it is to do with the appropriate letter. Some people blog about anything, some people theme their blogs. I hope you enjoy reading some of my posts and if I would love to read your comments about my challenge.

“O” is for Mike Oldfield

nce you hear a Mike Oldfield song, you never forget his incredibly unique style. From the days of Tubular Bells and we all remember it being used as the theme music for the movie The Exorcist, to more modern music from Oldfield, he has kept to a familiar formula and it works. I have the first three Tubular Bells albums, and I really should get a hold of The Millenium Bell. Of course, who of a certain generation in the UK can forget his version of the Blue Peter theme tune?

Oldfield is a multi-instrumentalist. The array of instruments that he can play is astounding and it makes me quite jealous that someone can have this amount of dedication to learn how to play them all and do such a great job making records. Of the 3 albums I have, I think I prefer Tubular Bells II best, but he has also made albums that feature vocals and one such track is Moonlight Shadow that included the voice of Maggie Reilly and is still Oldfield’s most successful single to date reaching number one in many countries. Here are a couple of his songs for your enjoyment.

And this from Tubular Bells III which is almost identical to the above track in its structure, but still musically different, but is so clever and it takes some talent to do something as original but at the same time, the same..try singing Moonlight Shadow along with it and you’ll see what I mean 😉 This is Man In The Rain.

