The A-Z Blogging Challenge is something that I am taking part in for the first time. It has been going for a few years and is more popular that ever. The premise is very simple. Each day in April with the exception of a few Sundays, bloggers from around the world blog for 26 days in April with each day’s blog beginning with the next letter of the alphabet, so April 1st is “A”, the 2nd is “B” and so on. The subject of each blog can be anything as long as it is to do with the appropriate letter. Some people blog about anything, some people theme their blogs. I hope you enjoy reading some of my posts and if I would love to read your comments about my challenge.

“N” is for Nightwish

ow, rock music comes in many different forms and “symphonic rock” is one species that I can really get on board with. It can be very operatic and classical in style with plenty of heavy guitars and keyboards in there aswell. Vocals are of course very important and if you don’t have a good voice at the front of it all, then forget it. Nightwish are a band that made the opera style of vocals in rock music cool and more accessible for the young generation of today. I first got into them after hearing a couple of tracks on an internet radio station and it went from there. Here is an example of their music featuring the vocals of original singer Tarja Turunen. (NB: This isn’t an official video). – “Wishmaster

After quite a public argument, Tarja Turunen was dismissed from the band in October 2005 and they took a hiatus from producing music. A year later they entered the studio to start work on their 6th album and Anette Olzen, a Swede, was chosen to take over the role of lead vocalist. It has been an improvement on the band’s past work. As much as I liked Tarja’s voice alongside the classical style of rock music, I much prefer Olzen’s voice; it is easier to listen to and compliments the music better. Their latest album Imaginaerum is a stunning piece of work and there is a to be a film released this year featuring the music from the album. Check out this great song called “I Want My Tears Back” which has some very Irish undertones.

I hope this might get you interested in another kind of music that has some great examples, another of which I may say hello to later on in this A-Z Challenge. Thanks for reading/watching.

