Tags

, , , , , , , ,

The A-Z Blogging Challenge is something that I am taking part in for the first time. It has been going for a few years and is more popular that ever. The premise is very simple. Each day in April with the exception of a few Sundays, bloggers from around the world blog for 26 days in April with each day’s blog beginning with the next letter of the alphabet, so April 1st is “A”, the 2nd is “B” and so on. The subject of each blog can be anything as long as it is to do with the appropriate letter. Some people blog about anything, some people theme their blogs. I hope you enjoy reading some of my posts and if I would love to read your comments about my challenge.

“I” is for Iron Maiden & Inxs

f you’re looking for some great rock music and by some strange quirk of fate the band has to start with the letter “I”, then you need look no further than Iron Maiden. One of the truly great British metal bands of all time and still going strong. There have been a few different lineup over the years, but I think most of recognise that the best of them included Bruce Dickinson as lead singer. To narrow this down to one actual song? That is a very difficult task, but I shall give you Can I Play With Madness; partly because it’s a great song, but also because one of the funniest men in comedy history appears in the video – Monty Python star Graham Chapman, in one of his final performances before his untimely death in 1989 at the age of just 48.

As for Inxs, one of their most underrated albums was before they hit the big time here in the UK. Listen Like Thieves was easily their best work in my opinion and is always overlooked on radio stations in favour of tracks from the massively more successful Kick album. There were a few stand out tracks on the album, but I think the title track is one of the best songs they ever recorded as a band. Enjoy it now. Thanks for reading.

