Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

The A-Z Blogging Challenge is something that I am taking part in for the first time. It has been going for a few years and is more popular that ever. The premise is very simple. Each day in April with the exception of a few Sundays, bloggers from around the world blog for 26 days in April with each day’s blog beginning with the next letter of the alphabet, so April 1st is “A”, the 2nd is “B” and so on. The subject of each blog can be anything as long as it is to do with the appropriate letter. Some people blog about anything, some people theme their blogs. I hope you enjoy reading some of my posts and if I would love to read your comments about my challenge.

“H” is for Heart & Hendrix

ere I sit typing this blog post once again thinking of a certain memory that seems to stick out my life gone by. BBC2 Television circa 1986. No Limits was a pop show created by Jonathan King (yes the convicted paedophile), but at that time he was a music media mogul. The show gave us a little more variety in the UK than just what was in the charts here at the time and we actually got to see what music was making the waves across the pond in the USA. It was watching this programme that I first heard the band Heart.

During one of their incarnations, they released an album called Heart and one of the tracks was called Never. I loved it instantly and hearing it now just reminds me of that tv show and discovering a love for AOR music that we were never exposed to here in the UK, so I suppose we should thank Mr. King for something at least as much as it pains me to do so. Here is that song…

Secondly, although I am not the biggest Jimi Hendrix fan on the planet, he did write some great songs, Little Wing in particular, but today I want to share a version of one of his biggest hits All Along The Watchtower. I heard this as part of the Battlestar Galactica series at the end of season three in fact when the remaining cylons were revealed to us. They were all hearing the music and reciting the lines from the song, and when we finally realise what the song is, the reveal is made. It was great tv and this version by Bear McCreary is wildly different, but still has as much of an impact as Hendrix himself did on the Bob Dylan original. I hope you all like it.

Now I have to decide what to write for “I”. Hmm, this will take some thought. Enjoy =)

