The A-Z Blogging Challenge is something that I am taking part in for the first time. It has been going for a few years and is more popular that ever. The premise is very simple. Each day in April with the exception of a few Sundays, bloggers from around the world blog for 26 days in April with each day’s blog beginning with the next letter of the alphabet, so April 1st is “A”, the 2nd is “B” and so on. The subject of each blog can be anything as long as it is to do with the appropriate letter. Some people blog about anything, some people theme their blogs. I hope you enjoy reading some of my posts and if I would love to read your comments about my challenge.

“G” is for Genesis & Guns ‘N’ Roses

oing back to my school and student days, Guns ‘N’ Roses were pretty popular at the time and although I’m not a huge fan of their music any longer, Axl Rose, Slash and the rest of the classic G ‘N’ Rs lineup did produce some great records. The album Appetite For Destruction spawned some classic rock tracks such as Sweet Child Of Mine and Welcome To The Jungle, but I will head to Use Your Illusion II for my pick today. Estranged is one of those great tracks that really stood out for me and every time I hear it, I can remember what I was doing at that point in my life, so it holds some good memories for me.

Genesis came much later to me. Despite being a band that had been going for years and years, I didn’t discover them until a song called Land Of Confusion was released in the mid 80s. The song sticks out for me because of the use of Spitting Image puppets for the video and as much as I would like to share a little UK humour with all you Americans out there, I have a different choice of song for my blog challenge. Jesus He Knows Me is one of those fun tracks and the band manage yet again to inject humour into the video by ridiculing the religious evangelists who exploit people’s’ faith in order to make as much money as possible. Phil Collins plays his part brilliantly I think. Here is the video for you to enjoy.

More tomorrow from me in the A-Z Challenge, thanks for stopping by.

