Here are another few entries for you to view and enjoy if you can…

Today we shall visit Israel, Hungary, Belgium and San Marino which should complete the first semi final line-up. Phew we got through that lot ok but we still have another semi final’s worth of entrants to tackle soon and I’m sure you’re all dying to hear them, lol. So far, there haven’t been many that have grabbed my attention, hopefully that can change tonight. Let’s hear Israel’s entry…

 

Izabo take the hopes of Israel to Baku this year. Their song “Time” is certainly something different from what we have heard so far. I’m not quite sure if I like it or not. Caught between ELO and Edwyn Collins I don’t think this has the strength to make it to the final, it’s quite catchy though and it might be one of those tracks that grows on you after a while. Have a listen…


Next up is Belgium. They are one of the founding members of the Eurovision Song Contest and have won it once. This year, their effort is by female vocalist Iris with a song called “Would You?”. Firstly, she really isn’t comfortable in a skirt, not with the way she holds herself. Secondly, the REALLY annoying habit she has doing little high bits with her voice is a huge turn off. This is an awful choice of song for Eurovision and this will not qualify. It better not anyway, its one of those style of songs that I simply cannot listen to, like whats her face – Taylor Swift. Urrrgh!


San Marino. Is it even a real country or just a large region stuck between actual countries? Either way, they enter Eurovision this year trying to clinch their first ever final. Valentina Monetta’s song “The Social Network Song” has already caused slight controversy after the original version “Facebook Uh, Oh Oh” was disqualified on the grounds that it breached certain lyric and title rules. A new song or changes had to be decided upon by 22nd March and the changed the title and the words. I got exactly 1 minute and 9 seconds into the song and had to switch it off. Just…why even bother? Here you go, brace yourselves…

Lastly today one of the better songs and a certainty to qualify I think belongs to Hungary. I liken it to a modern day Duran Duran/A-ha track and I predict that this will do very well in the final. I think it’s a clear semi final winner and it is one of those tracks that I will probably listen to long after the competition is long finished and forgotten about. It’s a great sound and Compact Disco’s song “Sound Of Our Hearts” is going to be one of the favourites at the bookies I’m sure. I hope you like it as much as I do.

A varied set of songs there I think you’ll agree. Next time we shall move onto the second semi final where all the songs have now been chosen. I hope you’ll join me again. Thanks for reading, let me know your thoughts on these tracks or any others from my Eurovision blogs. =)

