Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Time for another film review. I think I must have worn myself out over the awards season as this is the first one in a month that I have reviewed. The fourth installment of the highly successful Mission Impossible series was released last year and I have finally had a chance to see it. Mission : Impossible – Ghost Protocol sees our favourite IMF agent Ethan Hunt (Tom Cruise) back in the thick of the action when, after being implicated in the bombing of the Kremlin in Russia, the IMF is shut down and all agents are disavowed…again.

The story is a simple one, clear your name. Simon Pegg is also back as the tech geek agent Benji Dunn, but joining the team this time around are Jane Carter, played by Paula Patton and William Brandt (Jeremy Renner). Now I have to admit that I’ve never heard of Paula Patton, and that’s not surprising, she hasn’t done much in the way of film work, but Jeremy Renner is everywhere just now. I remember seeing him in SWAT years ago and it seems to me that he’s always been around, but its only really that he’s actually going to the big time, with The Avengers and The Bourne Legacy still to come out this year. His part was intriguing to me and he played it really well.

Ok, so there isn’t much in the way of plot and the team is out in the field when they get cut off so the equipment they have is very limited we won’t be seeing any amazing masks any time soon, but as for action? well there is certainly plenty of that. It’s chock full of it in fact. Put together, it all makes for a decent watch and I enjoyed it. I think it was perhaps a little on the long side coming in at 2 hours 12 minutes, but that wasn’t a major gripe. It’s not as good as the last movie which was really good with Philip Seymour Hoffman actually doing the things he said he was going to do as a bad guy, but I would give it a decent 6.5/10 and say that if you are a fan of the series of films, then see it. The first one is still and always will be my favourite, but this isn’t too bad at all. Enjoy the trailer…

