Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Time for another Monday Movie Meme from Nicole over at The Madlab Post. She appears to be having a bit of an identity crisis this week, but who is innocent of that from time to time? The title of this week’s theme is “Double Trouble“. I like this theme and should be able to give some good examples here. Share on your blog or in the comments section, movies featuring people who lead secret lives. Also, make sure to visit the blogs of fellow Monday Movie Meme participants.

Now I can think of many superhero films straight away, but I am going to avoid these, that’s much too easy.

First up from me is Victor Victoria. Set in 1934 Paris, the film tells the story of a female soprano named Victoria Grant (Julie Andrews) who isn’t having much luck in getting good gigs, well any gigs. After being written off by one promoter, she finds solace in a gay performer called Carroll Todd, played here by Robert Preston who has just been fired from his job at the same club that turn Victoria down and when he sees her literally kick someones butt, they have an idea to help both their situations. Victoria assumes the identity of one of Toddy’s former lovers, Count Victor Grazinski and she becomes a hit, but there are some that are convinced that the Count isn’t all he appears to be. The film also stars James Garner.

My next choice is V For Vendetta. This is one of those “you either love it or hate it” movies. Personally, I love it. I thought it was original in its delivery and although there are many references to the likes of 1984 I thought the backdrop of Guy Fawkes as a “good guy” terrorist was good. Hugo Weaving who plays V never removes his mask and his identity is never actually revealed. Written by the Wachowskis who brought us The Matrix series, some of the dialogues that Weaving provides us with is so expertly spoken and he really nails every monologue with precision and in part some very good comedic timing. The movie also stars Natalie Portman, John Hurt, Stephen Rea, Roger Allam and Stephen Fry. I must watch it again soon.

"I Am Your Father..."

Lastly is possibly one of the best secret identities that was revealed during the second installment of possibly one of the biggest movies stories of all time. Darth Vader. No-one knew that Vader was in fact Luke Skywalker’s father Anakin. The reveal sent shock waves around the world and Darth Vader remains one of film’s greatest ever bad guys. Darth Vader was originally played by David Prowse and voiced by James Earl Jones, but in later movies, would also be portrayed by Sebastian Shaw and Hayden Christensen.
So you saw what I did here right? All three of my choices are “V” names. Nothing exciting in that I know, but I got a kick out of it, lol. Right then readers, let’s have some of your secret identity movies please and thanks for reading. I hope some of you have a go and join in the fun.

