Tags

, , , , , , , ,

So that’s it all over for another year. The votes had been cast, the nominations announced and the winners have now been decided. I am quit pleased to say that in my last blog I made my predictions as to what I wanted to win, but on the flip side, what was more likely to win, and I wasn’t too far off the mark with my selections. Now if only I could transpose that track record into my football betting, I might make a few quid, lol.

Here is a run-down of the big winners…

Best Picture – The Artist
Best Actor – Jean Dujardin (The Artist)
Best Actress – Meryl Streep (The Iron Lady)
Best Director – Michel Hazanavicius (The Artist)
Best Supporting Actor – Christopher Plummer (The Beginners)
Best Supporting Actress – Octavia Spencer (The Help)
Best Original Screenplay – Midnight In Paris
Best Adapted Screenplay – The Descendants
Best Costume – The Artist
Best Animated Feature – Rango
Best Score – The Artist
Best Visual Effects – Hugo
Best Foreign Language Film – A Separation
Best Cinematography – Hugo
Best Editing – The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo
Best Sound Mixing – Hugo
Best Sound Editing – Hugo
Best Makeup – The Iron Lady
Best Original Song – “Man Or Muppet) (The Muppets)
Best Art Direction – Hugo
Best Feature Documentary – Undefeated

I’m not bothered about the short categories, and I don’t suppose many other people are either apart from those involved. So Hugo and The Artist were the big winners on the night with The Iron Lady getting a couple of statues aswell to represent the UK contingent.

I didn’t manage to see the awards, but I gather from what I have read and heard in the news, there was a manly kiss between Clooney and Crystal, some spilled ashes by a Dictator and the usual dresses, tuxes and Red Carpet finery that money can buy. Heres to another great year of movie making. I hope you have enjoyed my Oscars series. I have enjoyed bringing it to you. Thanks for reading =)

