Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

When I started this series of blogs, I didn’t realise just how far my boundaries were going to be pushed as regards to modern film making. Since I started reviewing the movies that are up for Oscars this year, I think Ihave seen some of the finest films that have been made in a long time.

Now I like a good action flick, and a great science fiction epic, but I think last night I saw one of the best dramas I have ever seen. It is ranked as the complete outsider for the Best Picture award.

Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close is a film by Scott Rudin who has produced some of the biggest movies in recent times and has a history of picking up the best film gong at The Oscars. The story is about a boy, Oskar Schell played here by Thomas Horn who loses his father Thomas (Tom Hanks)  in the 9/11 Twin Towers tragedy. They had a very close relationship due to Oskar suffering from possible Asperger’s syndrome. When a year later Oskar finds a key in his dad’s closet, he makes it his mission in life to travel the whole of New York and find the lock that the key fits. The only clue he has is a name, “Black“.

The cast is not only brilliant, but the story is truly moving. There are many things I remember about that day. Even in Scotland, I can recall the horror I felt for the people of New York experiencing that, and this film really hits it home just what the victims must have gone through well after the tragedy itself. Sandra Bullock plays Linda, Oskar’s mother and she is marvellous. Long gone are the days of driving a bus alongside Keanu Reeves (who doesn’t appear in this movie), I can tell you. Also appearing is Max von Sydow. A legend in acting and this movie has earned him a Best Supporting Actor nomination and he doesn’t even say a word for the entirety of the film.

The star of the show here though is Thomas Horn. Not a lot is known about him, only that it is his first film and he is very, very talented as an actor. I would say that if he sticks it out, he could go on to be very big in the movie world in the same way Dakota Fanning did, although she seems to have disappeared for a while. The character of Oskar is compelling, heart-breaking, guilt ridden, lonely, afraid yet extremely determined and stubborn. Horn does it all here and I say he is one to watch out for in the coming years.

It’s a movie about grief and how people deal with it essentially. There have been many who haven’t given this film much acclaim or feel that it is a let down. I say, “what do they know?”. Very rarely do I give a movie top marks, but today I give this very good film 10/10. You WILL cry, but you will understand it better if you have children. I thought I had picked my winner for the Best Film award with The Descendants. I have changed my mind. Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close is easily the best one of the nominees I have watched to date and it will deserve any award it gets. Here is the trailer, I hope you check this movie out if you get the chance.

