Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Welcome along to Smurfin’ The Web’s very own thoughts and musing on The Oscars, the upcoming movie event that is the pinnacle of all that is Hollywood. In the lead up to the actual ceremony, there is always a lot of talk about who is going to win what and did they deserve it and of course the fashion red carpet.

This blog will try to determine in my opinion what I think will be the winners and losers and although the nominations aren’t out for another week, I will be able to give you a few movie reviews of some of the “big hitters” that will definitely get a nod in the right direction.

We have had the Golden Globe Awards which is usually a very good indication of what and who is going to get nominated. There is also The Baftas coming up this Sunday which will give further hints to the big winners. So I’ll get straight on with my first movie review. This one is guaranteed to get a nomination in the Best Picture category.

Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy is another great British film that is an adaptation from a John le Carre novel from way back. The story was dramatised once before as a mini series starring Alec Guinness, but here, the lead role of spy George Smiley is taken over by Gary Oldman. A great choice and I can see him also getting a nomination in the Best Actor category. Joining him in the cast is a wealth of British talent; John Hurt, Mark Strong, Toby Jones, Ciaran Hinds, Tom Hardy, Benedict Cumberbatch, and Colin Firth. Quite an ensemble I think you’ll agree.

As for the film itself, I have anticipated this one since seeing the very first trailer, but now that I have seen it I have to admit I was a little underwhelmed. The story follows the book closely and it is the chasing down of a “mole” in a British spy ring who has been giving secrets away to the Russians. George Smiley (Gary Oldman) is a spy who gets “retired” but ends up being drafted in by a governmental Minister to track down the mole in the system.

The performances by all of the cast are first-rate and I cannot knock that side of the movie. I did however, find the storyline a little confusing in places and although parts of the story were easy to follow there seemed to be some unexplained parts for me, or at least they were answered, but not as clearly as I would have liked. Perhaps re-watching the film or revisiting the series will make things a lot clearer and it might enhance my enjoyment of the movie more. I think the trailer certainly makes it look more exciting than it actually is.

For now though, I think it will certainly get a nomination, but I have a feeling it is going to lose out on the Best Picture award to something else and because of this I feel that I can only give it a 6.5/10. I have a few more of the big hitter movies to watch yet, and have already reviewed Moneyball here. So I shall bring you another Oscar movie review another day soon, perhaps even tonight and perhaps then we can talk about some actors and actresses that may get the nominations and awards. There are plenty to hand out. Meanwhile, here is the trailer for Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy

