Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I watched the original movie not so long ago and caught the trailer for this sequel that has been some 8 years coming. Based on the hugely successful character Rowan Atkinson made famous in the Barclaycard adverts all those years ago, Johnny English has now been exiled from the UK and stripped of pretty much everything he worked so hard for in the first film. His agency bosses learn of a plot to assassinate the Chinese premier and they must turn to Johnny English to save the day once again.

I must admit, I was skeptical about this a little, fearing that all the best bits were in fact on the trailer as is so often the case with a comedy film of this type. However, I was pleasantly surprised that this was not what I got. There were some real laugh out loud moments in the film and as a fan of Rowan Atkinson anyway, particularly in Blackadder, I was glad that I wasn’t disappointed in his performance as the bungling secret agent. Sadly the box office didn’t agree and the film was a complete flop.

There are some gems of sequences here and if you watch the movie right to the end there is a classic piece of visual comedy that only Rowan Atkinson could pull off so well these days. Also starring in the movie are Gillian Anderson as Pamela, Johnny’s boss. There are also appearances by Tim McInnerney as gadget man Quartermain, Dominic West as Ambrose and Rosamund Pike as Kate.

If you like visual comedy, then I would recommend this film for you. So the writing isn’t the best in the world and the plot is very predictable, but it’s executed very well in my opinion, but more importantly, its funny which is what it all boils down to in the end. I am going to give Johnny English Reborn and nice solid 7/10 for laughs alone. I would be very surprised that the franchise got a third movie on the return of this sequel so I have a feeling that Mr English will never be as well-known as James Bond or Jason Bourne, but at least he had a go.

