Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s not my turn to set the topic this week, Nicole has that honour this week over at The Madlab Post and today she has chosen this week’s theme which is: “The Big Payback“.

Share on your blog movies that feature characters who are out for revenge. With so many films to choose from here in this category, I had to stop myself from going on and on and on. Revenge is an easy plotline for a movie and they are usually pretty decent if done correctly. Mostly they tend to be the action type, but sometimes they can be a gritty drama or even a comedy. So I have chosen four entries this week. I hope you enjoy them.

So who’s first up? The Crow. Starring the late Brandon Lee, son of Bruce, this movie was a massive hit even when the star died halfway through making it. It was one of the first examples of using computer graphics to insert an actor into a movie after his death during filming and the hype certainly matched the film. Brandon wasn’t just an action star, he was a pretty decent actor and who know, perhaps a Joker in the making? There are a lot of similarities between the two characters don’t you think? In this film however, Eric Draven (D Raven/De Raven/The Raven-> Crow – do you see what they did there?) I must watch it again soon.

My second choice is one of my favourite movies that I was only introduced to very recently. Oldboy is a Korean film that has a brilliant revenge storyline and tricks you aswell. It’s quite graphic in places and perhaps not for the squeamish if you don’t like the sight of blood. When Oh Dae-Su is released after being kidnapped and imprisoned for 15 years, he must find his captor in 5 days. I have reviewed this film on my blog and you can check it out HERE. Please have a look and watch this film, I love it, you should get a hold of it and see it before you die. Well worth it.

Next up is the slightly different selection from me. Nine to Five is more of a comedy movie than anything else, but it does have a serious side to it aswell. When three different employees are poorly treated by their boss who is a sexist, a bigot, liar, cheat and cares only about himself, they decide to give him a taste of his own medicine. The movie stars Dolly Parton, Jane Fonda and Lily Tomlin as the disgruntled women opposite Dabney Coleman as possibly the worst employer in history. A funny flick for the most part, but a moral story in the end.

Last from me is one of the best science fiction movies ever made, Star Trek II – The Wrath Of Khan. As the title suggests, Khan is quite cross and is seeking revenge on Captain Kirk and his crew. bearing in mind that Ricardo Montalbán who plays the part of Khan was 61 when he made this movie, he looked amazing. A great storyline and typical Star Trek special effects and one liners, it was my favourite Star Trek movie until the recent reboot and I recommend it to anyone who likes both Star Trek and sci-fi. A great revenge movie I think with an ending that is one of the best known in its genre. even William Shatner did a little bit of real acting at this point in the film, lol. Say what you like, he’s still a legend.

So there you have it folks, my choices for this week’s revenge themed meme. Thanks to Nicole for a great topic and its back to me next week. Please visit other participating blogs and if you haven’t already, have a go yourself. Thanks for reading. =)

