Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Welcome along to another Tuesday Tunes. Each week I will post up a new subject involving music and all you have to do is post a comment in my blog or if you have your own blog, link back to my blog. I hope you enjoy it and join in. Leave your choices in the comments box below, thanks.

Manly Music

This one is pretty simple, give me some examples of songs that you like that have men’s names in the title.

Loads to choose from here, and I think I’ll start with “Going Steady/Jilted John” by Jilted John. A novelty record from the crazy mind of Graham Fellows, it’s about a young guy called John who is dumped by his girlfriend for a guy called Gordon. It’s just a really good song that tells a story using many slang terms of its time (1978), many of which are still used today. I enjoy this tune every time I hear it.

Staying on the punk theme, here’s a track from Sham 69 called “Hurry Up Harry“. Theres not a lot you can say about this track, but I think the message is sewn into the genes of men across the globe – “we’re going down the pub”. It just goes to show that you don’t need to be musical geniuses to have a hit single. Still true today that isn’t it? lol

Last from me is a track from the band Weezer who scored a massive hit with the single “Buddy Holly” from their debut album all the way back in 1994. I think what made this such a successful song apart from the catchy tune of course, was the brilliant video that had the band appearing to be superimposed over the backdrop of an episode of Happy Days, a TV show from the 60s. It’s all just clever camera work and set dressing but it was just extremely clever and something I hadn’t seen done so well before. I still think it holds up now and you can enjoy it now.

I’d love to hear your choices this week. Maybe you’ll have a theme or just pick them at random, but there are literally thousands of tracks to choose from that feature a man’s name in the title, lets have them then =)

