Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Welcome along to another Tuesday Tunes. Each week I will post up a new subject involving music and all you have to do is post a comment in my blog or if you have your own blog, link back to my blog. I hope you enjoy it and join in. Leave your choices in the comments box below, thanks.

And Now…Introducing!

Ok, this is a blatant steal from the Breakfast Show on the radio this morning, btu I figured I’d open it out to the internet readers aswell. What are the best intros to songs? A great topic this one I think.

First I think I will mention Meatloaf. I’m not, however, going to choose the song he is most known for. Yes, granted, “Bat Out Of Hell” has a great intro with all that piano tinkling and big drums, but for me “You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth” (the proper version) had the better intro. Clearly frustrated actors, Meatloaf and Jim Steinman nailed this one.

Next up from me is a classic from the early 80s. No its not “Eye Of The Tiger“, that would be far too cliche. No instead I offer something that whenever I hear it, I have an unbeliveable urge to drink some Lucozade and run 100 Metres and try and beat Daley Thompson in the process. Iron Maiden have done some great tracks, but “Phantom Of The Opera” is one of their best and that intro just makes you want to get up and go.

The Who released some great songs in their time. I’m not a massive fan of everything they did, but I think that “Baba O’Reilly” deserves a place in my list today. Its instantly recognizeable and I love the sound. It builds up nicely until that unmistakable voice of Roger Daltrey comes in with that first line. Of course, fans of crime drama will know it as the them tune to CSI: New York, but in the end, its just a great tune and what a way to start an album – its the first song on the album Who’s Next.

Notable mentions:

  • Sweet Child Of Mine” – Guns N Roses
  • Shine On You Crazy Diamond” – Pink Floyd
  • Where The Streets Have No Name” – U2

So come on then music buffs, lets have some more =) Thanks for reading.

