Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

After last weeks review of one of the most successful horror movies of all time, Paranormal Activity, I figured it was only logical to follow it up this week with the sequel, brilliantly named Paranormal Activity 2.

The movie is a prequel to the first film and tells us the events of the two months immediately before the first film. This time, rather than the story focussing on Katie and Micah who do appear in the second film briefly, the attention is on Katie’s sister Kristy and her family. Kristy’s husband Daniel has a daughter called Ali but they also have a new addition to the family, Hunter, a boy.

After apparently being burgled, although nothing was actually taken, strange things start to happen in the house that progressively worsen with terrible outcomes. The fim is once again filmed in a home movie style, but the family also install a number of security cameras following their “burglary” which gives us yet another perspective on the events that take place.

The format of the movie is the same and if you have seen the original, then you will know what you can expect from its sequel. That said, there were more moments in this movie that actually made me jump and have the hairs on my arms standing on end, even to th epoint that my wife noticed and was visibly surprised that I had had that reaction. Its a great blend of suspense, expectation and sudden shock without the presence of actual gore. I really like these movies and can’t wait to see the third installment. I have to say that I think this one was just as good as the first film and I give it the same mark of 7/10.

Its a good scary watch I reckon that fans of psychological horror should definitely watch this series of movies. Heres the trailer, see what you think and if you watch it, comment in here and let me know your thoughts.

