Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Welcome along to Monday’s Movie Meme. I post up a new subject involving movies and all you have to do is answer the question, post a comment in my blog or if you have your own blog, link back to my blog. I hope you enjoy it and join in. Leave your choices in the comments box below, thanks. As it is Halloween today I figured it would be appropriate to do something along that theme for this week’s meme.

Things That Go Bump In The Night

Who are your favourite horror movie bad guys?

I write a weekly blog called “Wicked Wednesday” that reviews a horror movie. Sometimes its a slasher flick, sometimes a tense psychological  thriller. Whatever the movie, there is always a bad guy and there have been many hundreds of good ones (so to speak) over the years. I will start this week with a true classic, Michael Myers from the Halloween movie franchise.

This is one of my favourite horror movie characters. From the disturbing beginnings as a child to becoming an adult, escaping from the care of Dr. Loomis and eventually having a long vendetta against Jamie Lee Curtis‘ character Laurie Strode. The original movie is a true classic and you can read my review of it here. Myers would go on to feature in 7 more movies before Rob Zombie rebooted the franchise in 2007. I think one of the main attractions to the character is his silence. It is reminiscent of The Cybermen in Doctor Who which were always one of my most feared characters in that series also.

Next up has to be The Predator from the movies of the same name. Yet another character that says little but is menacing enough. The “invisibility” camouflage was a genius invention at the time of the first movie and I remember watching those special effects with amazement. The original movie was one of the first films I saw in surround sound and the experience of hearing twigs cracking behind your head while the Predator stalked its prey is one that I shall not forget. Unfortunately the franchise was spoiled somewhat after the first film and further more by the Alien vs Predator films that came about 15 years too late. Still, Predator ranks among the great evil bad guys.

I could choose some more, but I think I’ll let you guys have a turn. Remember and visit other people’s blogs and leave your comments. Thanks for taking part.

